.the.little.kid.

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about the little kid in me.

Financial guru Dave Ramsey first brought this concept to my mind about a year ago.  He speaks of the idea that every person has a small child inside them, one that’s often whining and sometimes screaming at the adult portion of us to satisfy them.  The child inside of us feels entitled to be indulged, to always partake in exactly what they want whenever they want [at the lowest immediate level of inconvenience, of course], no matter the personal cost or consequence to ourselves or anyone else.

For some of us, the little kid inside us is what causes us to buy a brand new car when we’re struggling to pay the bills to begin with and our current car is running just fine.  For some of us, it’s the reason we rely on fast food so heavily, even when there’s food to be cooked and consumed at home, generally less taxing to both our wallets and our daily calorie intake.  For some of us, it’s the voice that says “ME, ME, ME!!!” and allows us to act in ways that are hurtful and destructive to others, simply because it makes us feel better.  Many of us sacrifice greatly without even knowing it, all for the sake of satisfying the little kid in our chests.  It’s what keeps us broke and overweight and unhappy and hurting others on our quest for personal satisfaction.

I’m working on that.  Self-control has never been my strong suit, and that’s something I’d like to see change.  Not only does a lack of self-control add to a general feeling of self-importance, I’m learning that it often keeps me from serving others.  It’s easy to become so focused on serving the child within us that we lose sight of serving the people around us.  At the end of life, I’d like to look back and see that I was intent on more than serving me.

So for today…I’m telling the little kid no.

Leave a Reply

