.engaged.

I need to be engaged.

I keep tossing around this question in my head.  What is it that separates the friend from the kindred spirit? What is it that takes someone from being someone you’d consider a close companion to someone you’d consider moving across the country to be with? Because I have both.  I have, for the entirety of my life, been blessed with great friends.  And yet, at this point in my life, I’m discovering an even more intimate level of friendship.  What is it that separates the good from the great?

And today, for the first time, I’ve been able to put a word on it.  Engaged.  Friendships and relationships in which we are mutually engaged in something bigger than ourselves.  Something for the success of which all parties are necessary.  There’s something to be said for friendships in which you dream forward and together.  It’s so easy to have friendships in which you remain in the here and now; in which you enjoy each other’s company but never really moved past that.

I want to cultivate relationships in which we have more than casual enjoyment of activities.  I want to cultivate relationships in which we consider the weight of our partnership and what we could be doing together to bring Heaven to Earth.

I want to be truly engaged in life with the people I love.

Leave a Reply

