something new

I’m a big advocate of fresh starts.  I’ve always been a fan of the New Year, and I’ve always been a fan of resolutions.  However, I haven’t generally been successful at keeping them!

So this year, I’m making two very broad resolutions:

Rethink healthy.
Rethink well-rounded.

These are two of my major life goals.  So it seems fitting to work toward the two of them together, in a broad sense.  My plan is this: at the beginning of each month, I’m going to make a short-term goal for how those two goals will manifest themselves in the way I live my life.

Rethinking healthy is something that my husband, Joshua, and I are doing together.  Over the past year, both of us have taken a long hard look at the way we take care of our bodies, and neither of us is entirely pleased with ourselves.  Which many people laugh at because, to look at us, we don’t seem in unhealthy at all.  We’re both tall and thin, don’t seem to have trouble making it up a flight of stairs, aren’t frequently ill…we seem to be in good health.

And yet, when we look at things more closely, we realize that our current health-related lifestyle isn’t one that’s going to serve us well in the future.  We eat out all the time, we eat a load of junk food, we tend to eat meals on a truly erratic schedule, we’re not terribly active.  And right now, at age 26, that doesn’t seem to be affecting us too heavily.  And yet both of us, having families to look at and mistakes to learn from, know that it will in the end.

Rethinking well-rounded is another thing we’re doing together.  I want desperately, at the end of my life, to be able to look back and say that I’ve lived and lived well.  To do many things and experience many things and affect many things.  I was born with an adventurous spirit, and as I’ve grown older, it’s refined itself into a desire to live a life that’s far from vegetating in one little corner of the world for my entire existence.  I would like to be well-read and well-traveled.  I would like to say that I’ve loved people well and given of myself for the sake of another.  I would like to say that, in my quest for adventure, I brought a little bit of Heaven to earth.  That I proclaimed God in the way I lived, in the way I let my spirit light things up.

So in this light, I have my goals for January:

Don’t eat out.  At all.  This will be a major challenge.  However, lately I’ve been noticing that every time I eat out, I end up feeling over-filled and sluggish and heavy and tired and just plain gross.  I want to explore that thought by seeing how my body responds to a month of home-cooked meals.

Read the following four books: For Women Only [for growth in my marriage], Teaching With Love and Logic [for growth in my professional life], The Screwtape Letters [for spiritual growth], and the next novel in my Sookie Stackhouse series [just for fun].

Do some baking for my neighbor Sandy [something random that I’ve been wanting to do for months, and just keep putting it off or forgetting about it.]

I began this blog to write about the goals that I’m setting for myself, and how things progress as I live them out.  Few things solidify thoughts and ideas and actions in my mind like writing them down.  So, for the sake of staying on track, I will document.

Here’s to 2011.  May it be a year of the growth and change and love that comes from being deeply rooted in the dirty soil of Christ.

Leave a Reply

