buzz travels

“The number one reason people buy or try something is because someone they trust told them to do so.”

“Buzz travels most smoothly on channels built on trust.”

I love to talk about things I love.  I love to talk about things that are important to me.  Ask me about my husband, Joshua, and you’d better be prepared with hot cup of coffee and a chunk of time, because there’s a story to be told.  Ask me about my nieces, Karlie and Abbi, or my puppy, Bailey, and the story is the same.  Ask me how I feel about my best friends, or chocolate, or my iPod, and you might as well settle in.  It could be awhile.

And along the same lines, I love to talk about things I despise.  Someday, when you have a chunk of time on your hands, you should ask me how I feel about the fact that Jay-Z makes upwards of $60 million dollars a year as a rapper while people in other countries die because they’re drinking diseased water.  Ask me about that sometime.  Ask me about sex trafficking or childhood obesity or boys who get called gay because they like to sing.  Ask me about those things.

It’s passion.  Passion is what whips us into a verbal frenzy.  It’s what stirs a buzz inside of us, and that buzz inside of us stirs a buzz outside of us, and sometimes that buzz stirs a buzz in the guy next to us…we’ve all seen it in action.  Across history, we’ve watched revolutions of epic proportions take place, both for the positive and the negative, beginning with a small group of passionate people and expanding outward.

Today, we have more potential than ever to generate that kind of world-changing buzz.  With the popularity of the Internet, social media, and various other avenues of communication, one single thought can move from the US to Japan in the same instant.  That’s absolutely ridiculous to me.  And to my dad, who spent two years in Vietnam, writing letters every day to my mother back home.  A letter sent from Vietnam back then could take weeks to arrive on her doorstep in Missouri.  A few days ago, I used Skype from my apartment to talk with my little brother, who’s currently stationed in Kuwait.  Not only could I talk to him, I could see him.  We looked each other straight in the face and held a conversation from thousands of miles away.  When I told my dad that, he just shook his head in disbelief at how much things can change in a few decades.

My question is this: what are we using that for? Especially for those of us who claim Christ.  What are we using our potential for? Because we have all the potential in the world for ministry.  We look back at the disciples and talk about how they were so fortunate to be able to spend time with Jesus in person.  And yet, we forget that we have capabilities in our generation that would have absolutely blown their minds.  In the time it took them to travel from one place to another, we have the ability to impact literally millions of people.  To spread a message of hope to a world full of people who are dying for it.  We have no excuses for not creating relationships, no excuses for not building trust and using our influence to change the world.

What are we using that for? This is my own personal food for thought tonight as I lay my head down.

What are we using that for?

What am I using that for?

Leave a Reply

