hymns don’t always suck

It seems like an appropriate time to count my many blessings for this week.  So, here goes!

-I have gotten more sleep this week than I have in the past five months.

-My husband is seriously a miracle to me.  He cares desperately about knowing what I need and meeting those needs.  And he’s also ridiculously good-looking, and the funniest person I know.  I got to marry my soulmate, the one who really gets me, for better or worse.  And it is so much better than my dreams could have planned for.

-My puppy is the cutest thing in the world, and she loves me no matter what my disposition is.  I’ve never met another being who is so terribly excited to see me walk in the door.  Sometimes she literally pees herself out of excitement.  I will give the first person who pees themselves out of excitement to see me a hundred bucks.  Probably not, but I’ll give you a really big hug and a change of pants, likely not in that order.

-I laugh SO much.  Seriously, there is so much laughter in my life, and it is glorious.

-I have a more or less endless supply of hot tea in my kitchen.

-I have a job to get up and go to in the morning, one that pays me well to do the one thing I’ve always wanted to do: change the world.

-In less than a month, I get to be in one of my favorite places on Earth: on a stage, singing to a willing audience.

-My car is paid for and my apartment is warm.

-I seem to be a magnet for the world’s most incredible people.  Seriously, I’m constantly shocked by the intelligence, hilarity, compassion, kindness, love and joy that emanate from the people my life is blessed by.  They’re all over the world, but they’re still in my life and I’m so grateful for that.

-I get to go on a double date with two of those incredible people tomorrow night!

-I played Call of Duty: Black Ops tonight, and did not entirely suck.  I only barely lost.

-I have reached my goal of being under 150 pounds for the first time since my freshman year in college.  Even better, I’m treating my body well for the first time ever, and it’s thanking me in multiple ways.

-I have had my fair share of really, truly devastating moments in this life.  They’ve taught me, however, the value of being able to celebrate life in its ups and downs.  And how important it is to be grateful for all the rest of the moments.

-I have not broken a bone in quite some time now.

-One word.  Sushi.

-I am daily held in the arms of a God who is Love.  And He daily shows me what His Love looks like, in the places I go and the people I meet and the things I enjoy.  And I get to go show the rest of the world that Love.

And all God’s people said…

Leave a Reply

