lightbulb

Short thoughts today, just something I’m chewing on.

For the bulk of my life, I’ve been thrust back and forth between groups of people on the extreme ends of the spectrum.  Those who live as though moral diligence is more efficient in attaining salvation than God’s grace, and those who believe that moral diligence isn’t even a factor in our faith because of God’s grace.  I find it hard, in my chronic lack of humility, not to laugh out loud at both sides of that coin.  And yet, I have a hard time searching out where I fall on that spectrum.  Until today, when a lovely lady with a beautiful heart put it into perspective for me.

In the same way I act and live a certain way because of the vows I made to my husband, I act and live a certain way because of the vows I made to God–not only because of obligation and not only because of love, but because of obligation and love blended, become one.

It is not a burden for me to act in ways that show my husband my devotion to him.  Not because I’m fearful that he would put me out if I didn’t have dinner on the table one night, or if I spoke a hasty word in anger.  But because I love him.  And I’m committed to him.  And from that love and commitment, natural action springs forward, action that shows him honor.  And so it is with my Creator.  I live the way I do not because I’m fearful that His grace is not enough to carry me; but because I love Him and am committed to Him.  And from that love and commitment, natural action springs forward, action that shows Him honor and praise.

Huh.  Lightbulb moment.

Leave a Reply

