a dangerous prayer

Our Father, who art in Heaven,
Hallowed by Thy name.
Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done
On earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread,
And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.
Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
For Thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory,
Forever and ever.
Amen.

Father.

You are holy, and just, and You are more worthy of praise than anything I have, anything I own, anything I know.

Bring Your plan to earth, the plan that was from the beginning.  Do what You want with this world, with me.  Set things right.  As broken as this world is, put things in their proper place.  Make this place as You dreamed it would be, as it is in Your reality.

Give me what I need for today.  Not enough for tomorrow, so that I still have to trust You with what’s to come.  Give me the resources I need for today, the information I need for today, the strength I need for today.  Teach me to live in faith that what I need for tomorrow will be supplied when tomorrow comes.  Teach me to not desire more than You’ve given me.

Forgive me to the same degree that I forgive the people who have wronged me.  Who have offended me.  Who have misunderstood me.  Who have devalued me.  Who have ignored me.  Who have exploited me.  Who have hurt me.

Lead me away from temptation, away from my vices, away from the things that would imprison me.  Even if those temptations and vices and chains happen to be things I enjoy.  Save me from everything that has nothing to do with You.

Everything here is Yours.  I openly acknowledge that nothing is mine.  At the end of the day, it all belongs to You, so I’m opening my hands.  Use what you’ve given me as You will, to the greatest of Your power, to benefit the world that You are constantly recreating, making new.  All that lies in my outstretched hands is Yours.  Was, is, and will always be.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

