the journey is the destination

Today is a day for celebrating small victories.

This is generally a huge challenge for me, because I have this tendency to see any deviation from my goal as failure.  That mentality has been the death of MANY of my aspirations.  But the longer I teach high school students, the more I realize how important it is that we encourage them to fail.  Because if you’re not failing at anything, there’s a decent chance you’re not trying anything.  Growing and expanding and broadening.  And if that’s true for my high school students it’s most certainly true for me.  So I’m working on encouraging myself to fail, and not letting that failure stop me from continuing to try.

This week, I had two goals.

The first was to get up every morning at 5:30.  I have to leave my house by 6:15 to make it to the train on time if I don’t want to be pushing the boundaries of “late” as an employee.  I cannot tell you how many times I’ve rolled myself out of bed at 6:05, thrown clothes on,  and run out the door with unbrushed teeth and yesterday’s makeup.  I have always chalked it up to simply not being a morning person.  Which, by nature, I’m not.  I don’t really enjoy mornings, per se.  But lately I’ve been pondering this thought—what if I don’t enjoy mornings because I’m always rushed and frantic and running behind, and never have the opportunity to fill the morning with things I enjoy?

So, in the interest of starting small, I decided to get up at 5:30, drag myself out of bed, and spend some time in the Word.  And then, spend a little time doing something I enjoy in the morning.  Even if it’s only for five to ten minutes.   And then MAYBE even have a little time to, you know, brush my teeth and look in a mirror. 

I managed to get up at 5:30 two days this week.  I’ll generously call it two and a half days, because this morning, I was almost there.  Woke up, turned the lamp on, and decided I would pray before I got out of bed.  Let it be known that, as a typically non-morning person, “praying” before sunrise from the comfort of your bed while snuggled up with your snoozing puppy rarely leads to actual praying at all.  Just putting that out there.  But I did manage to be awake and out of bed by 5:50, which is still improvement over the norm.

I choose to view this week as a success.  Baby steps are still forward motion and I certainly think two and a half out of five days is a baby step when I consider where I came from. 

My second goal was to cut out one thing at one meal every day that I could probably live without in my diet.  For example, when I go to Subway for lunch (since it’s healthy and all), I will only eat a sandwich, a cookie, and a baggie of chips.  As opposed to my usual sandwich, cookie, baggie of chips, and Dr. Pepper.

For this particular goal, I hit a solid three days.  Again, small progress, but progress nonetheless.  And it deserves to be celebrated.  That’s 600-800 calories worth of unbeneficial crap that I managed to avoid.  Better than last week.

The journey is the destination.

Leave a Reply

