for the first day of the twenty eighth year

Travel to at least five places I’ve never been before.

Take my mama to see the ocean.

Plan a surprise for Josh, and actually keep it a secret.

Do a show playing the guitar instead of the piano.

Write more often, music or otherwise.

Run a 10k.

Make health a habit.

Go to bed earlier and wake up earlier.

Get another tattoo.

Plant a garden.

Consume with an awareness of how my consumption affects others.

Let my yes be yes and my no be no.

Decorate our apartment.

Practice gratitude when I feel least like practicing gratitude.

Practice hospitality when I feel least like practicing hospitality.

Go one day every week without touching my computer or phone.

Hold the gifts in my life a little more loosely, especially those I treasure most.

Hold on to trust in God instead of trust in what He’s given me.

Remember to breathe.

Dance publicly.

Live with my hands open.

Leave a Reply

